A Word Apart

The space bar keeps the words apart
as if they want to fight
but if they ran together all
it wouldn’t be quite right.

A little space is what we need
for us to get along
a little time to catch our breath
correct me if I’m wrong.

So let me tell you this one thing
my lips upon your ear
let’s enjoy ourselves apart
for six months, no a year.

To this she said a decade
would hardly be enough
and gathered all her things in arm
and left in quite the huff.

I said I didn’t mean it
but she’d gone and hadn’t heard
now my space bar mocks me
at the end of every word.

Well now I’ve gone and done it
to deny it would be wrong
I went and done wrote lyrics
to a goofy country song.

Leave a Reply

